menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 4: Let them eat Menopause Cake!

on June 10, 2013

In the late 1990’s Linda Kearns developed an novel alternative to traditional hormone replacement drugs – a flap-jack style cake, which was to sweep the UK by storm.

It might sound too good to be true… a cake that will help decrease menopausal symptoms? But the ingredients she uses – soya and seeds – are all rich in phyto oestrogens (the natural plant hormones that mimic oestrogen). Linda’s story was published in the Daily Mail and after it was featured, the paper was swamped by women begging for the recipe.

menopause cake

I think the cake is delicious. It makes a great ‘on the run’ breakfast or a perfect mid-morning or mid-afternoon snack.  You can also freeze individually wrapped slices and take a slice out of the freezer each night for the next day. You can find the recipe on my Snack Recipes page.

Day 4 Food Diary:

Breakfast: Hot Lemon & Honey, Mashed Banana & Tahini on toast – see breakfast recipe page

Lunch: 2 prawn sandwiches on multiseed wholemeal bread with cherry tomatoes, no butter but a small squirt of mayonnaise mixed with ketchup for a ‘marie rose sauce’ and a sprinkle of paprika

Dinner: Leftover Pork & Apple Sausage Cabbage pot from yesterday (I liked it so much!) – see dinner recipe page

Snacks & Drinks: Menopause cake slice, 2 Japanese Rice Crackers, herbal tea, water

I am feeling pretty good the last few days… Immediately I feel less bloated but I haven’t got on the scales yet as I find my weight fluctuates a bit on a daily basis, I prefer to just go with how I am feeling for now… and I feel thinner, so thats good enough for me!

Leave a Reply

