menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 14: Homemade Miso Soup

on June 20, 2013

Today I tried making Miso Soup which I love when I go to Yo Sushi! There are sachets of miso soup mix that you can add hot water to and voila, a cup of miso soup, but I read about how easy it is to make you own on La Fuji Mama’s blog so I thought I’d give it a go.

Just to recap, the reason I want to eat Miso Soup at home is to try to up my intake of fermented soy, which is a good source of phytoestrogens, an essential part of treating menopause symptoms naturally – you can read more about that on my Day 5 post about Soya and my Day 12 post about phtytoestrogens.

Anyway, La Fuji Mama is right. Making your own miso soup is not difficult but I did find it fiddly and there is lots of different advice online about how much miso to add. I didnt get it right this time and I felt like I could fiddle about for ages trying to get the right proportions, so I think the ready made sachets will have to do for me in the future!

I salvaged my lunch by cooking some vermicelli rice noodles in the broth I had made and added some left over mackerel, cooked lentils and rocket (arugula). The result was a surprisingly nice asian style noodle soup!

So here’s my food diary for Day 14:

I am stil trying to get my head around the idea of filling half my plate with vegetables and thinking of the meat and carbs as ‘sides’. See more on this on my Portion Control post. The cabbage, mushroom and pepper stir fry took care of that nicely. I added soy sauce, sesame seeds, nutmeg, smoked paprika and mirin (japanese rice wine vinegar) – really good and some left over for lunch tomorrow!

Breakast: Menopause Smoothie

Lunch: Miso soup with rice noodles and leftover mackerel and lentils (a strange but surprisingly tasty mix!)

Dinner: Barbecue Chicken escalope, Rice noodles with cabbage, pepper and mushroom stir fry (with soy sauce and sesame seeds)

Cabbage mushroom & Pepper stir fry

Snacks & Drinks: Herbal tea, Menopause Cake spread with tahini, Japanese rice cracker, Jaffa Cake, 3 squares dark chocolate

Leave a Reply

