menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 16: Horrors of the Dressing Room

on June 22, 2013

I am having a bit of a wobble the last couple of days – not just physically but mentally!

Today I was shopping for some clothes for my son. I had no intention of buying anything for myself but I saw some shorts that I thought might be good for me for the summer. Shorts are a bit of a minefield at the best of times but these were black (slimming), lightweight, knee length and looked well cut so I thought I’d try them on.

dressing room humour

I went into a dark, tiny, triangular shaped fitting room with a curtain that barely pulled shut (they really know how to make you feel good about yourself in these stores!) I tried the shorts on – they were ok but didn’t really do me any favours – but I was unable to avoid the horrible truth of my legs in the mirror! I had been feeling pretty good the last 2 weeks. The diet had been going well and because I had been feeling better about myself I had conveniently forgotten about the reality of my body shape under my clothes (see The Stranger in the Mirror). It was a nasty reminder and the weird thing is that instead of making me more determined to stick to the diet, all it made me do was raid the bag of chocolate toffees when I got home. What kind of crazy logic is that?

anyway here is my Food Diary for Day 16:

Breakfast: Porridge with strawberries and linseeds

Lunch: Prawn, asparagus, tomato and green bean stir fry with rice noodles and sesame seeds

prawn stir fry

Dinner: Scallop and mixed vegetable stir fry with sweet chilli sauce

Snacks & Drinks: 6 chocolate toffees, 6 squares dark chocolate, 3 dried apricots, olives and parma ham, herbal tea

Not an unhealthy day but feeling way too full. Tomorrow is another day.

Leave a Reply

