menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 18: Eat your vegetables first!

on June 24, 2013

In my Day 9 post on Portion Control I wrote about filling your plate half full with vegetable and one quarter full with each of carbs and protein.  I am still struggling to do this as it is so ingrained in me to think of the meat and carbs as the ‘main’ part of the meal and the veg as the ‘side’. Plus I am still inclined to load my plate too full as I have this deep seated need to ‘make sure there is enough to eat’ on the plate.

The Japanese have an ancient proverb hara hachi bunme which means: “Stop eating when you are 80% full.” Something else that seems very hard for me to do, especially if there is still food on the plate, because it might (horror of horrors) go to waste!

Eating your vegetables first means that the veggie’s fibre becomes bigger with water in your stomach, making you feel full more quickly. This helps you eat less. Plus, raw vegetables, have a digestive enzyme, which aides in the digestion of proteins, which is a good reason to eat the protein after the veggies.

portion plate

Food Diary Day 18

Breakfast: half a grapefruit, banana

Late morning: Porridge with berries and milled linseed

Dinner: Chicken, Squash & sweet potato soup – variation on chicken soup recipe in Lunch Recipe Page – mini wholemeal pitta bread and hummus

Snacks & Drinks: Herbal tea, slice of menopause cake (see snack recipe page) with tahini, 3 squares dark chocolate

Although it looks like I missed a meal here, the porridge was like an early lunch. I had the menopause cake mid afternoon and it tided me over till dinner.

Leave a Reply

