menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 50: Diet cheat days

on July 26, 2013

I dont like cheat days even though they are recommended by the likes of Gary Taubes.  For me they just throw me off balance and make me feel gross… perhaps thats what they are supposed to do! anyway today wasn’t supposed to be a cheat day – it was supposed to be tomorrow as tomorrow we are having a birthday party but what I hadn’t anticipated was the  temptations of setting up the party the day before… the bags of crisps, nachos and Pringles, the sweets (for the kids), biscuits and chocolate goodies.

It all started off well enough…

Breakfast: menopause muesli – see breakfast recipe page

Lunch: Peppered fish salad, avocado, edamame beans, cucumber, leaves, tomatoes, olives and serrano ham

IMG_1555

 

It was after lunch that things started to go downhill… specifically

8 squares Dairy Milk Caramel

Half a tube of Thai Chilli Pringles

10 (?) Maoam Stripes (kids chewy sweets)

4 chocolate caramel biscuits

1 J2O juice drink

I estimate this is probably about 1000-1200 calories… it is amazing just how many calories are in this rubbish and how many can be consumed in so short a time…. now I feel full, bloated and a bit sick, very disappointed and annoyed with myself.

And now I have the difficult and party pooping task of trying to eat sensibly tomorrow… It is possible, in theory… there is salmon and green salad but of course there is also wine, more crisps, profiteroles & cheesecake. Oh well…. watch this space!


Leave a comment