menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Days 51 and 52: The Party Hostess Diet

on July 28, 2013

Readers of my Day 50 post will recall that I had a diet hiccup while preparing for a party that were due to host – namely scoffing large quantities of crisps, chocolate and biscuits that were part of the party offering. I had put this down to a ‘cheat day’ but was concerned that I was also going to be tempted on the party day itself by the huge array of carbs, cakes, pies and sweets laid out before me.

I needn’t have worried – as the hostess I barely had time to eat anything, plus sheer nervous energy, that everything was going ok and everyone was having a good time, kept me going. I did have a large slice of the amazing chocolate birthday cake for which I have no regrets as it would have been a crime to miss it – so moist and rich and quite the most delicious cake I have ever tasted!

I stepped on the scales this morning three quarters of a pound lighter, so I can recommend the slightly dubious ‘Hostess Diet’ in which you are too busy hosting the party to eat!!

Now I am back to normal and here is my food diary for Day 51

Breakfast: menopause meusli – see breakfast recipe page

Lunch: Cheese, crackers, chutney and apples (not ideal due to the crackers (carbs) and cheese (protein but not good fat)… but someones got to eat the party leftovers!

Dinner: Red Lentil, butternut squash, red pepper and ham ‘dahl’ – see dinner recipe page for recipe

lentil dahl

Leave a Reply

