menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 62: Waste not, Eat too much

on August 7, 2013

Like many others of my generation I was bought up on the phrase ‘waste not, want not’. I think this is generally a good concept, except when on a diet! This evening I was really hungry as we had been out and were late getting home for the evening meal. As a result, to coin another phrase, ‘my eyes were bigger than my stomach’.  Not to mention the two chocolate caramel biscuits that I gulped down as soon as we got through the door. They really need to go in the bin as they have caught me out the last three days now!

eyes bigger than stomach

Anyway, for dinner,  I fried up the remainder of last night’s chinese stir fried vegetables and baked a slice of salmon in the oven. I thought this wouldn’t be enough so I added half a pouch of Merchant Gourmet’s cooked lentils. By the time it was on my plate I knew there was too much (lesson: should have removed some immediately and put in fridge for tomorrow), but I ate it because I didn’t want to waste it, even though a) I wasn’t particularly enjoying it and b) I was full up half way through. At least it was healthy food but still feel rather bloated.

So, just for a few weeks don’t feel bad about putting the biscuits in the bin to get them out of temptations way and don’t feel compelled to finish your plate just because it’s there (even better, don’t put so much on there in the first place!)

Food Diary Day 62

Breakfast: menopause muesli

Lunch: Rye bread, smoked salmon, beetroot, tomato

Dinner: Salmon, lentils, stir fried vegetables

IMG_1750

Snacks & Drinks: herbal tea, menopause cake – see snack recipe page, 2 chocolate caramel biscuits

Leave a Reply

