menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 80: Rethink your treats

on August 25, 2013

Well almost back on track… a rather tempting rogue pack of jaffa cakes but ok apart from that…

I read a lovely article recently about the celebrity chef Mary Berry. She said something that resonated with me as I had been thinking about how I was going to get back on track with my diet after the treats I had been eating on holiday. I decided that I had to rethink what a ‘treat’ was for me. Here’s what she said:

“You can have an interesting and varied diet, but you don’t need a huge portion and you certainly don’t need a second helping, especially as you get older. Rather than deny myself anything, I prefer to have tiny portions of beautiful food…”

Food Diary Day 80:

Breakfast: Menopause muesli – see breakfast recipe page

Lunch: poached salmon, tomatoes, ready made edamame bean salad, radishes, olives

Dinner: Mixed bean salad, wholegrain rice, half a tin of sardines, tomatoes

sardine bean salad

Snacks and Drinks: half a glass of wine, 8 jaffa cakes, cherries

Leave a Reply

