menopause diet blog

Time for a Change

Day 89: My secret for losing weight? Write a blog!

on September 4, 2013

Many diets advocate keeping a food diary to keep track of what you are eating. They are a great way to monitor your diet and track progress. They are also a useful tool to identify why your diet is/is not working. For example you might find that you are tempted by sugary snacks every day at 4 o’clock… a food diary helps to highlight such issues so that you can then do something about them. I have tried keeping a paper food diary before but it never seemed to last more than a couple of weeks.

This is the first time I have kept a food diary on a blog and it is a much more powerful tool than a paper diary. Without a shadow of a doubt it has been a major contributor to the success of this diet. Why?

  1. Other people are reading it and I therefore felt accountable to these unknown supporters of mine. It was comforting to know that other people were following my story and that they were going through the same ups and down as I was. I felt that I owed them my time & an honest account of my dieting day and I hope I was helping in some way on their dieting journey. Finding something interesting to write everyday, other than simply an account of my food diary, meant that I stayed very focused on the task at hand. At the end of each day, when I wrote the blog, I was forced to think in detail about my food choices, dieting experience and how I could maintain/improve it.
  2. The blog recipe pages are a great pictorial record of the meal ideas that have worked and it was often helpful to revisit these pages when I was in need of inspiration.

It was a real commitment and some days I had to summon up the enthusiasm to write. But once I did I never regretted it as I nearly always leant something that would help me and it really helped to keep healthy food  choices top of my mind. The thought that it was only for a finite amount of time helped to keep me going.

So I would really recommend keeping a blog about your dieting experience. Its a effort but its one that will help you reach your target weight and therefore the effort more than repays itself in reward!

Food Diary Day 89

Breakfast: menopause muesli

Lunch: felafel, salad leaves, beetroot, cucumber

IMG_2184

 

Dinner: Yo Sushi (blue plate day – those aren’t all mine!)

IMG_0026

 

Drinks & Snacks: herbal tea, 5 squares dark chocolate, slice of cheese and parma ham

Leave a Reply

